Results of last group 2 joint 2010 CAN/WC qualifiers

Reading time 1 min.

Following are the results of the last group 2 qualifiers for the joint 2010 African Nations Cup/World Cup, played across Africa on Saturday.

At the end of the group 2 fixtures on Sunday (12Oct), the winners of the 12 groups and the eight best runners up will advance to the third round, where they will be divided into five groups of four teams each.

The winners of the five groups will qualify for the World Cup finals in South Africa, while the top three finishers will participate in the 2010 African Nations Cup finals in Angola.

South Africa has already qualified automatically as host, meaning Africa will have six representatives at the 2010 World Cup.

RESULTS (Venue, host, visitor)

Omdurman — Sudan 2 Congo 0

Rabat — Morocco 4 Mauritania 1

Bamako — Mali 2 Chad 1

Rades — Tunisia 5 Seychelles 0

Gaborone — Botswana 0 Mozambique 1

Dar Es Salaam — Tanzania 3 Cape Verde Islands 1

Windhoek — Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 2

Abuja — Nigeria 4 Sierra Leone 1

Malabo — Equatorial Guinea 0 South Africa 1

Monrovia — Liberia 0 Algeria 0

Dakar — Senegal 1 Gambia 1

Yaounde — Cameroon 5 Mauritius 0

Libreville — Gabon 1 Libya 0

Accra — Togo 6 Zwaziland 0

Sekondi — Ghana 3 Lesotho 0

Abidjan — Cote d’Ivoire 3 Madagascar 0

Blantyre — Malawi 2 Congo DR 1

NOTE: Togo was forced to play in Ghana as it is serving a three-match ban imposed by FIFA, following the assault on two Mali footballers in Lome after a 2008 Nations Cup qualifier).

CAN 2010  It’s time to see who the contenders are: who’s going to win and who’s not, who’s going to upset a few teams… January 10-31, Angola is the place to be for football fans!
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News