Teams to play in final round of 2010 CAN/WC qualifiers

Reading time 1 min.

All the 20 teams for the final round of the joint qualifiers for the 2010 World Cup/African Cup of Nations have emerged, following the last round of matches played in the second round across Africa at the weekend.

According to world soccer’s governing body, FIFA, a draw will be held in Zurich, Switzerland, 22 October at which the teams would be divided into five groups of four teams each.

At the end of the third round, group winners will qualify for the 2010 World Cup, to be played in South Africa, while the top three finishers will qualify for the final of the 2010 Nations Cup in Angola.

South Africa, as host of the World Cup, qualifies automatically, meaning that Africa will have six representatives at the 2010 finals.

Following are the 20 teams that progressed to the final qualifying round, according to FIFA.

12 group winners:







Côte d’Ivoire


Burkina Faso




8 best runners-up, pending confirmation from the Official FIFA Match Reports:

Rwanda (Group 8)

Tunisia (Group 9)

Kenya (Group 2)

Togo (Group 11)

Gabon (Group 5)

Sudan (Group 10)

Malawi (Group 12)

Mozambique (Group 7) *

* Gambia finished level on points with Mozambique in Group 7, but the latter goes through due to a superior goal difference.

Panafrica  Read latest news and features for Panafrica
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News