Cameroon withdraws from Rugby World Cup Qualifiers

Reading time 1 min.

Cameroon, due to lack of funds, will not take part in the seven-team rugby tournament, to be held 30 October – 1 November in Tunis, Tunisia.

The Camerounean Rugby Federation (FECARUGBY) announced that it had not been able to secure the 8 million FCFA required by the country to take part in the tournament.

The team, which was to leave Yaounde Wednesday, had been preparing with training for the past one month.

The tournament will serve as a qualifier to the Rugby World cup to be held in 2009 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Following the withdrawal of Cameroon, the 13 remaining countries in the competition are; Botswana, Cote d;Ivoire, Kenya, Madagascar, Morocco, Namibia, Nigeria, Uganda, Senegal, Swaziland, Tunisia, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

The qualifiers comprise of twelve teams divided into four pools of three with Kenya alongside Cote d’Ivoire and Nigeria in pool A . Pool B has hosts Tunisia, Zambia and Senegal, Pool C; Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Botswana while Pool D has Namibia, Cameroon and Uganda.

The top three teams will qualify for the world cup.

Cameroon  Read latest news and features from Cameroon : business, politics, culture, life & style, entertainment and sports
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News