Two major upsets as 8 football teams move into next CHAN stage

Reading time 1 min.

All the eight finalists for the inaugural edition of the African Nations Championship have emerged after the second round, second leg matches played across Africa at the weekend.

But African soccer giants Cameroon and Nigeria are not among the finalists.

Ghana pulled through at the expense of Nigeria, after forcing the Super Eagles to a goalless draw in the southern city of Calabar on Sunday for a 3-2 aggregate win.

Four-time African champion Cameroon also fell by the wayside as the Simbas of DR Congo cruised to the final on a 3-0 aggregate, after beating the Indomitable Lions 1-0 in the second leg on Sunday.

Cote d’Ivoire, as host, has an automatic slot in the final, which will take place from 22 February to 8 March, 2009 in the West African nation.

The tournament will be held every two years, alternating with the more prestigious African Cup of Nations.

The draw for the final will be held in Abidjan on Friday

The finalists: DR Congo, Senegal, Zimbabwe, Zambia, Libya, Tanzania, Ghana and host Cote d’Ivoire

Full Results:

1 Libya 3-0 Morocco

Morocco 3-1 Libya

*Libya qualifies 4-3 on aggregate

2 Senegal 1-0 Guinea

Guinea 1-0 Senegal

*Senegal qualifies 3-1 on penalties

3 Nigeria 0-0 Ghana

Ghana 3-2 Nigeria

*Ghana qualifies 3-2 on aggregate

4 DR Congo 1-0 Cameroon

Cameroon 0-2 RD Congo

*DR Congo qualifies 3-0 on aggregate

5 Sudan 1-2 Tanzania

Tanzania 3-1 Sudan

*Tanzania qualifies 5-2 on aggregate

6 Zambia 2-1 Angola

Angola 0-1 zambia

*Zambia qualify 3-1 on aggregate

7 Zimbabwe 2-0 South Africa

South Africa 0-1 Zimbabwe

*Zimbabwe qualifies 3-0 on aggregate

Panafrica  Read latest news and features for Panafrica
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News