GLO CAF Award winners list: Egypt tops the count

Reading time 1 min.

The African Footballer of the Year award is the most prestigious of all the categories, which also include the best footballer playing on the continent, best female player, best coach and best club. The nominations for the Glo-CAF African Footballer of the Year Award were scaled down to three names with Togo’s Adebayor Emmanuel, Egypt’s Aboutrika Mohammed, and Ghana’s Michael Essien making it to the final list.

Award winners

Glo-CAF Player of the Year

Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal and Togo)

Inter-Club Player of the Year

Mohamed Aboutreika (Al-Ahly and Egypt)

National Team of the Year


Club of the Year

Al-Ahly (Egypt)

Young Player of the Year

Salomon Kalou (Chelsea and Cote d’Ivoire)

Women’s footballer of the year

Alice Mattlou (South Africa)

Coach of the Year

Hassan Shehata (Egypt national team)

Order of Merit Achievement

Roger Ouegnin, President of ASEC Mimosas Football Club

Farah Addo

Orok Oyo

Fair Play Award

Cote d’Ivoire

Best Supporters Club (Club division)

Al-Ahly (Egypt)

Best Supporters Club (National teams division)

Nigeria Supporters Club

African Football Legend

Christian Chukwu (Nigeria)

Platinum Award

Umar Musa Yar’Adua, President of the Republic of Nigeria


Goalkeeper – Carlos Idriss Kameni (Espanyol and Cameroon)

Defenders – Wael Gomaa (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Ismail Taye Taiwo (Olympique Marseille and Nigeria), Joseph Yobo (Everton and Nigeria), John Mensah (Olympique Lyon and Ghana)

Midfielders – Mohamed Aboutreika (Al-Ahly and Egypt), Michael Essien (Chelsea and Ghana), Yaya Toure (Barcelona and Cote d’Ivoire), Sulley Muntari (Inter Milan and Ghana)

Attackers – Samuel Eto’o (Barcelona and Spain), Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal and Togo)

Source: CAF

Panafrica  Read latest news and features for Panafrica
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News