Zanu-PF factionalism looms as Mugabe ignores loyalists

Reading time 2 min.

Zimbabwe’s ruling Zanu-PF is set for serious factionalism following President Robert Mugabe’s failed bid to go over his allocation so as to appoint a number of loyalist.

Mugabe who had initially invited 22 members to be sworn into the inclusive cabinet together with members from the opposition failed to exceed his quota of 16.

As a result, some senior members of his party, including Zanu-PF national chairman John Nkomo, were embarrassed as they went home empty handed.

According to sources, opposition MDC leader, Morgan Tsvangirai, blocked Mugabe’s plan to please as many people in his party as possible from exceeding his quota.

Under the Global Political Agreement facilitated by SADC, Zanu-PF can only have 16 ministers, MDC-Tsvangirai 17 and the MDC formation led by Mutambara 3.

Mugabe, whose appointments have been described as shocking, retained most members of a cabinet he described only last year as “the worst in history”.

A total of 36 ministers, four more than expected, recited their oaths on the lawn of the State House, finalizing a power-sharing arrangement nearly a year after disputed elections.

Deputy ministers will take office next week, officials said.

Six minsters of state

The swearing in ceremony had to be delayed following a dispute sparked by Zanu PF attempts to swear in six Ministers of State instead of the three agreed with the two MDC factions who are parties to the September 15 power sharing agreement brokered by regional leaders.

South African President Kgalema Motlanthe waded into the stand-off and suggested a compromise which allowed Mugabe to swear in two Zanu PF Ministers of State and one from Tsvangirai’s MDC.

Partial list of New Zimbabwe cabinet

Education – David Coltart (MDC-M)

Industry and Commerce – Welshman Ncube (MDC-M)

Regional Integration and International Trade – Priscilla Misihairabwi (MDC-M)

Defence – Emmerson Mnangwagwa (Zanu PF)

State Security – Sydney Sekeramayi (Zanu PF)

Agriculture – Joseph Made (Zanu PF)

Transport – Nicholas Goche (Zanu PF)

Higher Education – Stan Mudenge (Zanu PF)

Local Government – Ignatius Chombo (Zanu PF)

Lands and Land Resettlement – Herbert Murerwa (Zanu PF)

Home Affairs – Kembo Mohadi (Zanu PF) and Giles Mutsekwa (MDC-T)

Women’s Affairs – Olivia Muchena (Zanu PF)

Mines – Obert Mpofu (Zanu PF)

Tourism – Walter Mzembi (Zanu PF)

Information and Publicity – Webster Shamu (Zanu PF)

Youth Development – Savior Kasukuwere (Zanu PF)

Environment – Francis Nhema (Zanu PF)

Justice – Patrick Chinamasa (Zanu PF)

Foreign Affairs – Simbarashe Mumbengegwi (Zanu PF)

Finance – Tendai Biti (MDC-T)

Information Communications Technology – Nelson Chamisa (MDC-T)

Science and Technology – Heneri Dzinotyiwei (MDC-T)

Public Service – Elphas Mukonoweshuro (MDC-T)

Energy and Power Development – Elias Mudzuri (MDC-T)

Constitutional and Parliamentary Affairs – Eric Matinenga (MDC-T)

Labour – Pauline Mpariwa (MDC-T)

Water Resources – Joel Gabbuza (MDC-T)

Health – Henry Madzorera (MDC-T)

State Enterprises – Samuel Sipepa Nkomo (MDC-T)

National Housing – Fidelis Mhashu (MDC-T)

Economic Planning and Development – Elton Mangoma (MDC-T)

Zimbabwe  Read latest news and features from Zimbabwe : business, politics, culture, life & style, entertainment and sports
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News