Vegetarian or vegan: Spot the difference

Reading time 1 min.

What is the difference between a vegetarian and a vegan?

A vegetarian does not eat the flesh of any creature, whether four-legged, flying or swimming: this means beef, pork, lamb, poultry, but also fish.

However, this restriction does not apply to eggs, milk, or its derivatives such as cheese, butter and other dairy products.

Satisfactory intake of vitamins, essential fatty acids and minerals can be provided by abundant consumption of vegetables, legumes, cereals, fruit and vegetable-based fats.

But, this type of diet can lead to a definite iron deficiency and it is important to keep a close eye on pregnant women and young children.

Vegans, on the other hand, refuse to eat any food that is animal in origin.

And the fact is that this deliberately unbalanced diet can lead to serious deficiencies.

It lacks the essential amino acids that the human body is unable to synthesise itself and which must necessarily be provided by food.

This means that our vitamin requirements, and in particular vitamin B12, are not covered.

Consumption of various yeasts, grains, nuts and algae does not compensate for these deficiencies.

Our own human history and natural science say it all. Man is an omnivore and this is, without a doubt, what has made him able to survive and evolve …

Health  Read latest news and features for Health
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News