More flights between EU and West Africa

Reading time 1 min.

The European Union (EU) and the West African Economic and Monetary Union (WAEMU) signed a horizontal aviation agreement to bring into compliance with EU law, bilateral aviation agreements, concluded between EU member states and WAEMU member states, official sources announced in Brussels.

A released issued Thursday said the aviation deal would be implemented after being approved by the Council of EU member states.

According to the release, the air agreement was essentially aimed at removing clauses of nationality from the bilateral agreement and allowing any airline of a EU member state to run flights to any WAEMU country and from any European country linked by a bilateral agreement with the states concerned by the deal.

WAEMU member states are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cote d’Ivoire, Guinea Bissau, Mali, Niger, Senegal and Togo.

The agreement will be implemented after the approval of the council of member states, which would lead to cut the plane tickets between the European and West A frican capitals.


European Union  Read latest news and features from European Union : business, politics, culture, life & style, entertainment and sports
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News