African Football Stars on Fifa Award Nomination List

Reading time 2 min.

Emmanuel Adebayor of Togo and Arsenal, Samuel Eto of Cameroon and Barcelona and Didier Drogba of Cote d’voire and Chelsea are the three Africans represented in the honors list of world football for 2007/2008 season.

According to 23 man list released by football governing body FIFA, every player included in this year’s nomination have deservedly earned their recognition amongst footballs greatest elites.

Other names on the list include Steven Gerrard, Frank Lampard, John Terry and last year’s winner and runner-up, Brazilian Kaka and Argentina’s Lionel Messi. Newly awarded FIFPro world player of the year, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Messi are expected to be two of the main contenders for this year’s honour.

The award will be decided as usual by a poll of national team captains and coaches.

A shortlist of three will be revealed in December, with the winner announced at a ceremony in Zurich in January.

The list which comprises three African players, three South Americans and 20 Europeans also accompanied a 10-name shortlist for the Fifa women’s world player of the year award has also been published, including Arsenal’s Kelly Smith and Brazil’s Marta, who is aiming to win the award for the third year running.

Fifa men’s world player of the year 2008 shortlist:

Emmanuel Adebayor (Togo), Sergio Aguero (Argentina), Andrei Arshavin (Russia), Michael Ballack (Germany), Gianluigi Buffon (Italy), Iker Casillas (Spain), Deco (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Steven Gerrard (England), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden), Andres Iniesta (Spain), Kaka (Brazil), Frank Lampard (England), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Franck Ribery (France), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), John Terry (England), Fernando Torres (Spain), Ruud van Nistelrooy (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain).

Fifa women’s world player of the year 2008 shortlist:

Nadine Angerer (Germany), Shannon Boxx (USA), Cristiane (Brazil), Daniela (Brazil), Marta (Brazil), Birgit Prinz (Germany), Christine Sinclair (Canada), Kelly Smith (England), Hope Solo (USA) and Ingvild Stensland (Norway).

International  International news in general
Support Follow Afrik-News on Google News